Tendarix.ca
BUSINESS NEWS
Storm Clouds Continue to Gather Over Canada’s Economy· EnergyNowWhy business leaders are ‘cautiously optimistic’ about the upcoming federal budget· BNN BloombergPosthaste: U.S. businesses feel fresh pain from trade war with Canada, says this hot take on the economy· Financial PostOpinion: If Canada’s population isn’t shrinking, our economic numbers aren’t so good after all· The Globe and MailCanada's economic ambitions face skilled workforce challenges, Liberal MPs warn· CTV NewsCanadian SME owners push for growth despite economic uncertainty· Wealth ProfessionalAtlantic Canadian businesses can now apply for nearly $40M in AI funding· CBCWhat Canadian Businesses Must Embrace to Compete in a Volatile Global Economy· Open CanadaGlobal trade is changing how the Canadian economy works· Bank of CanadaHoles In Value Chains Are Holding Back Five Sectors That Have The Potential To Reshape Canada’s Economy For The Better· Canadian Chamber of CommerceEastern Canada business leaders call for ‘single economy’ between Atlantic provinces· Global NewsEastern Canada business leaders call for 'single economy' between Atlantic provinces· CastanetRegina business leaders to hear outlook on Canada's economy· SaskToday.caTiff Macklem on tariffs, inflation and Canada’s economic crossroads· PNI Atlantic NewsCanadian economy lost 68,000 jobs in September, marking second straight month of surprise declines· CBC
← All tenders
Correctional Service Canada

Formation professionnelle sur technologies de haut niveau pour délinquants autochtones

Indigenous set-asideOther
Estimated value
Not disclosed
Deadline
July 14, 2023
Published
June 29, 2023
Type
Services
Explore similarHealthcare ServicesOntarioIndigenous set-aside
Awarded
This contract has been awarded. Details are drawn from the federal award notice for this solicitation.
Winning supplier
First Peoples Innovation Center
Contract value
CAD $207.2K
Award date
2023-09-05
Supplier location
Gatineau, Quebec
Advance Contract Award Notice

Full description

An advanced contract award notice (ACAN) is a public notice indicating to the supplier community that a department or agency intends to award a Standing Offer for goods, services or construction to a pre-identified supplier, thereby allowing other suppliers to signal their interest in bidding, by submitting a statement of capabilities. If no supplier submits a statement of capabilities that meets the requirements set out in the ACAN, on or before the closing date and time stated in the ACAN, the contracting officer may then proceed with the award to the pre-identified supplier.

1. Definition of the requirement:

The Correctional Service Canada (CSC) CORCAN has a requirement to provide vocational training for federal Indigenous offenders that will meet community standards and labour market conditions. The work will require the following:

1.1 Objectives:

Provide third party certification courses in heat press, vinyl, laser and 3D printing to Indigenous offender groups in the federal institutions in the Quebec Region listed in 1.5.1 for making traditional Indigenous items.

1.2 Tasks:

The Offeror must:

  • Provide qualified trainers with the skills and expertise to Indigenous communities to deliver high level technology training in heat press, vinyl, laser and 3D printing for the purpose of making traditional Indigenous items in respect of their traditions.
  • Provide all necessary materials for each training session on site at the institutions listed in Appendix B (art supplies) including, but not limited to: equipment (various machines), instructional materials such as training manuals, written and practical exercises, and craft materials (including but not limited to leather, beads).
  • Provide a complete list of tools and equipment to the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training sessions two weeks prior to the program start date.
  • Provide a training program that includes time for classroom theoretical training and practical exercises. These practical exercises must include concepts enabling the acquisition of skills for using the d07ifferent technologies taught.
  • Submit a list of successful and unsuccessful participants to the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training within 14 days of course completion.
  • Submit to the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training, within 30 days of course completion, recognized certificates for successful candidates.

The Offeror’s resources must:

  • Participate in an orientation at the designated training location prior to delivery of training.
  • Determine course dates in consultation with the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training.
  • Arrive, at least, 30 to 45 minutes prior to the start time of the course to allow time for processing by the principal entrance security and resolve any logistical issue, set up and be ready for arrival of participants.
  • Ensure area of work is searched at the end of each day and any tool control, attendance management and security procedures are followed as identified in the site orientation prior to course delivery.
  • Ensure that equipment is disinfected before and after each use by the instructor.
  • Take attendance and obtain the names of participants at each training session.
  • Conduct the necessary testing for the completion of each course.

1.3 Expected results:

  • Provide Indigenous offenders with access to high-level technology training through cultural teaching that respects their traditions.
  • Increase vocational skills training to Indigenous offenders;
  • Promote and encourage the participation of Indigenous offenders in learning programs;
  • Promote and when required, administer Indigenous offenders’ access to appropriate employment and employability services in the community;
  • Enhance Indigenous offenders’ ability to seek and maintain employment while under supervision in the community;
  • Promote innovative, culturally relevant training of Indigenous offenders in responding to labour market trends.

1.4 Deliverables:

1.4.1

  • Provide high-level courses to participating Indigenous offenders through group sessions, providing theoretical and practical learning in both official languages;
  • Provide sufficient resources (trainers) to deliver the training at each institution;
  • Provide training materials and equipment, written and practical exercises, and testing as required for the completion of the applicable course and any other necessary equipment. All types of media used to deliver the training must be approved in advance and identified by the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training;
  • Deliver all materials and equipment to the institution prior to start of course (materials/equipment will be stored on site during the course);
  • Provide offenders with state-of-the-art material and equipment in a portable format (same equipment used in the community);
  • Submit a list of successful participants to the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training;
  • Send a hard copy of the certificates for successful participants by mail to CORCAN Employment and Employability Program, 250 Montée Saint-François, Laval, Quebec H7C 1S5 within 30 days of course completion;
  • Submit the dates of training, the location and number of participants to the person responsible for coordinating CORCAN training within 10 days of completion of each course.

1.4.2 Paper consumption:

a. Should printed material be required, double sided printing in black and white format is the default unless otherwise specified by the Project Authority.

b. The Offeror must ensure printed material is on paper with a minimum recycled content of 30% and/or certified as originating from a sustainably managed forest.

c. The Offeror must recycle unneeded printed documents (in accordance with Security Requirements).

1.5 Constraints:

1.5.1 Location of work:

a. The Offeror must perform the work at

Joliette Institution (for woman)
400 Marsolais Street
Joliette, QC J6E 8V4

Archambault Institution (minimum)
244 Gibson Boulevard
Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC J5N 1V8

Archambault Institution (medium)
242 Gibson Boulevard
Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC J5N 1V8

Federal Training Center (multi level unit)
6099 Lévesque Boulevard East
Laval, QC H7C1P1

b. Travel

i. Travel to the following locations will be required for performance of the work under this contract:

Joliette Institution (for woman)
400 Marsolais Street
Joliette, QC J6E 8V4

Archambault Institution (minimum)
244 Gibson Boulevard
Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC J5N 1V8

Archambault Institution (medium)
242 Gibson Boulevard
Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC J5N 1V8

Federal Training Center (multi level units)
6099 Lévesque Boulevard East
Laval, QC H7C1P1

1.5.2 Language of Work:

The offeror must perform all work in both languages French and English.

1.5.3 Institutional Access Requirements

Offeror personnel will be escorted at all times by Correctional Service Canada personnel or those authorized by CSC on its behalf. Offeror personnel must adhere to institutional requirements for the conduct of searches by Correctional Service Canada prior to admittance to the institution/site. Correctional Service Canada reserves the right to deny access to any institution/site or part thereof by any Offeror personnel, at any time.

2. Criteria for assessment of the statement of capabilities (minimum essential requirements):

Any interested supplier must demonstrate by way of a statement of capabilities that it meets the following requirements:

Experience:

  • Four (4) years experience within the ten (10) years prior to the closing date of this ACAN in providing designated holistic learning services to Indigenous female and male clientele in a culturally appropriate manner.
  • Have at least two certified trainers with one (1) year experience within the five (5) years prior to the closing date of this ACAN in providing training on designated high tech heat press, vinyl, laser and 3D printing equipment for making traditional Indigenous items.

To confirm the experience, the supplier must provide, in each case:

  • The name of the Instructor;
  • The name of the Aboriginal or other communities where the training was given (ie 3D printing, laser, vinyl, heat press);
  • The types of training given by the instructor.
  • Have a specialized training stream for Indigenous female clientele.
  • Demonstrate by providing three references that it has established partnerships as a bridge to Indigenous communities, so that learners have the skills to be recognized by employers in their community.

The supplier must demonstrate compliance by providing three references confirming the partnership;

  • The reference’s name, telephone number or email address.

3. Applicability of the trade agreement(s) to the procurement

This procurement is not subject to any trade agreement.

4. Set-aside under the Procurement Strategy for Indigenous Business

This procurement is set-aside for an Indigenous Supplier in accordance with the government Procurement Strategy for Indigenous Business (PSIB). Therefore, only suppliers who meet the definition of an Indigenous business, as defined in the PSIB, may submit a statement of capabilities.

5. Comprehensive Land Claims Agreement(s)

This procurement is not subject to a Comprehensive Land Claims Agreement.

6. Justification for the Pre-Identified Supplier

The First Peoples Innovation Centre is the only supplier able to offer training that respects and enhances Indigenous traditions allowing CSC’s Indigenous inmate population to benefit from this learning and apply it to their reintegration into their communities.

The pre-identified supplier meets all of the minimum essential requirements described in this ACAN.

7. Government Contracts Regulations Exception(s)

The following exception to the Government Contracts Regulations is invoked for this procurement under subsection:

(d) only one person is capable of performing the contract.

8. Exclusions and/or Limited Tendering Reasons

The following exclusion(s) and/or limited tendering reasons are invoked under the section of the trade agreement(s) specified:

This procurement is not subject to any trade agreement.

9. Ownership of Intellectual Property

There are no intellectual property terms in the Standing Offer.

10. Period of the proposed Standing Offer or delivery date

The proposed Standing Offer for a period of one year, from date August 1, 2023 to July 31, 2024 with an option to extend the contract for one additional one year period.

11. Cost estimate of the proposed Standing Offer

The estimated value of the Standing Offer including option(s) is $ 365,755.41 (GST/HST extra).

12. Name and address of the pre-identified supplier

Name: Centre d’innovation des Premiers Peuples
Address: 85B Promenade du Portage, Gatineau, Quebec, J8X 2K2

13. Suppliers' right to submit a statement of capabilities

Suppliers who consider themselves fully qualified and available to provide the goods, services or construction services described in the ACAN, may submit a statement of capabilities in writing to the contact person identified in this notice on or before the closing date and time of this notice. The statement of capabilities must clearly demonstrate how the supplier meets the advertised requirements.

14. Closing date and time for a submission of a statement of capabilities

The closing date and time for accepting statements of capabilities is July 14, 2023 at 2:00 PM EDT.

15. Inquiries and submission of statements of capabilities

Inquiries and statement of capabilities are to be directed to:

Linda Mandeville, Senior Procurement Officer
340 Laurier Ave. W., Ottawa, ON, K1A 0P9
Telephone: 438-357-6503
E-mail: l••••••••@•••••••.••.ca

AI Analysis

Get a plain-English breakdown of this tender — what they need, who can bid, how to approach it, and tips for small suppliers. Takes a couple of seconds.

Basic information

Reference
cb-6802-712279
Solicitation no.
21C30-24-4373874
Buyer
Correctional Service Canada
Notice type
Advance Contract Award Notice
Method
Advance contract award notice
Procurement category
*SRV
Trade agreements
*None
Estimated value
Not disclosed
Source
canadabuys

Classification & terms

UNSPSC
UNSPSC 85000000 — Healthcare Services

Delivery & regions

Province
Ontario
Regions of delivery
*Quebec (except NCR)

Key dates

Published
June 29, 2023
Closes
July 14, 2023
Amendment no.
001

Likely incumbents

(5)

Suppliers who have won similar work from this buyer before.

  1. 1
    Calian Ltd.
    2 contracts won· latest March 20, 2025
    CAD $1.7M
    total awarded
  2. 2
    Bayshore HealthCare Ltd.
    2 contracts won· latest February 18, 2025
    CAD $494.6K
    total awarded
  3. 3
    Janie Cote Optometrist Inc
    2 contracts won· latest February 6, 2025
    CAD $242.3K
    total awarded
  4. 4
    9525-2888 Quebec Inc
    2 contracts won· latest April 24, 2025
    CAD $181.7K
    total awarded
  5. 5
    Calian Ltd
    1 contract won· latest July 1, 2024
    CAD $3.8M
    total awarded

Calian Ltd. is the most likely incumbent, based on how often and how recently they have won this buyer’s work in this category. To displace them, expect to need a clearly stronger proposition or price.

Live tenders

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC)6 days left

Primary Care Physician Services at Nova Institution for Women

Indigenous set-asideServices
78 MATCHView →
Department of Public Works and Government Services (PSPC)7 days left

M2989-252991-B - Divisional Psychologist Services, BC-YT

Services
78 MATCHView →
Correctional Service of Canada (CSC)7 days left

Psychiatric services- Ottawa Area Parole Office

Indigenous set-asideServices
80 MATCHView →