Tendarix.ca
BUSINESS NEWS
Business groups warn of irreversible economic consequences if trade deal remains in limbo· Financial PostWhat Canadian Businesses Must Embrace to Compete in a Volatile Global Economy· Open CanadaGlobal trade is changing how the Canadian economy works· Bank of CanadaRegina business leaders to hear outlook on Canada's economy· SaskToday.caHoles In Value Chains Are Holding Back Five Sectors That Have The Potential To Reshape Canada’s Economy For The Better· Canadian Chamber of CommerceEastern Canada business leaders call for ‘single economy’ between Atlantic provinces· Global NewsDeloitte Canada cuts GDP growth forecast by 20% as tariffs grip economy amid Trump's trade war· CBCHow oil-rich Alberta's economy might fare if it broke away from Canada· BBCPrime Minister Carney introduces new Productivity Mega Deduction to boost Canada’s advantage as the most competitive G7 country for new business investment· Prime Minister of CanadaDeloitte expects slowing pace of economic activity in Canada into 2027· Financial PostCanadian Business Leadership Takes Centre Stage in Calgary· Canadian Chamber of CommerceThe first Canada Investment Summit unleashes nearly $500 billion of new investment in Canada· Prime Minister of CanadaWhat would being an 'associate member' of the EU mean for the Canadian economy and businesses?· Financial PostBank of Canada rate hikes to be limited by soft economy, report says· The Globe and MailCanada’s Productivity Push: Could Ottawa’s New Investment Strategy Accelerate Economic Growth and Business Spending?· kalkine.ca
← All tenders
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Services de divulgation de données

Other
Estimated value
Not disclosed
Deadline
May 31, 2024
Published
May 16, 2024
Type
Services
Explore similarEngineering and Research and Technology Based ServicesOntario
Awarded
This contract has been awarded. Details are drawn from the federal award notice for this solicitation.
Winning supplier
Beyond 20/20
Contract value
CAD $18.4K
Award date
2024-06-06
Supplier location
Ottawa, Ontario
Advance Contract Award Notice

Full description

Title: Data Disclosure Services

1. Advance Contract Award Notice (ACAN)

An ACAN is a public notice indicating to the supplier community that a department or agency intends to award a contract for goods, services or construction to a pre-identified supplier, thereby allowing other suppliers to signal their interest in bidding, by submitting a statement of capabilities. If no supplier submits a statement of capabilities that meets the requirements set out in the ACAN, on or before the closing date stated in the ACAN, the contracting officer may then proceed with the award to the pre-identified supplier.

2. Definition of the requirement

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) collects financial data from Federally Regulated Institutions (FRIs) via quarterly and annual returns. Both quarterly and annual data include financial statements and Capital Adequacy statements, which OSFI discloses on its external website (www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) in compliance with the legislation referenced below.

Most of the large volume of data that OSFI collects, and that is authorized by the Minister for disclosure, is not disclosed on OSFI’s website, for business as well as technical reasons. OSFI requires a private sector commercial database company (a “Contractor”) to make the authorized annual financial data available to the public.

The data to be disclosed is filed by approximately 250 FRIs, in six industry groups (Canadian and foreign Life, Canadian and foreign Property & Casualty, Canadian and foreign Fraternal Benefit Societies). Each FRI files an average of 4,000 datapoints (that are authorized for disclosure), which are transferred quarterly (approximately end May, end Aug, end Nov, end March) by OSFI to the database company. Templates of the quarterly and annual returns may be accessed on OSFI’s website (in Excel format).

OSFI has a requirement to continue the process of using a private sector commercial database company (the “Contractor”) to make authorized annual financial data filed by FRIs available to the public (the “Requestor”).

The purpose of this Advance Contract Award Notice (ACAN) is to signal the government's intention to award a contract for these services to Beyond 20/20. Before awarding a contract, however, the government would like to provide other suppliers with the opportunity to demonstrate that they are capable of satisfying the requirements set out in this Notice, by submitting a statement of capabilities during the 15 calendar day posting period.

If other potential suppliers submit a statement of capabilities during the 15 calendar day posting period that meet the requirements set out in the ACAN, the government will proceed to a full tendering process on either the government's electronic tendering service or through traditional means, in order to award the contract.

If no other supplier submits, on or before the closing date, a statement of capabilities meeting the requirements set out in the ACAN, a contract will be awarded to the pre-selected supplier.

3. Criteria for assessment of the Statement of Capabilities (Minimum Essential Requirements)

Any interested supplier must demonstrate by way of a statement of capabilities that it meets the following requirements:

  • Ability to make the financial data available on the website within ten working days after data has been received from OSFI.
  • Ability to provide support on their website by a toll-free number of which service must be provided between 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST., i.e. during normal business hours.
  • Ability to communicate with the Requestor in the official language of their choice (English/French).
  • Ability to provide a bilingual public web interface by which:

o The Requestor may download the data they choose. Accommodations must be made to minimize download time (e.g. zip files).
o The Requestor may request instructions as to how to navigate the OSFI data, with explanations on how to find the data and how to download files.
o The Requestor may request assistance / ask questions, which must be answered within 2 business days.
o The Requestor may obtain background information on the record layout of the return, the provided metadata on the company name, and the blank return.
o The Requestor may link to the public OSFI website (www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca).

  • Ability to provide the Requestor, free of charge, an electronic transfer of financial data in the same format as it was provided to the Contractor by OSFI.
  • Ability to provide an annual report on May 30th to OSFI, at no extra cost, which indicates the number and nature of requests received annually.

4. Applicability of the trade agreement(s) to the procurement

This procurement is not subject to any trade agreement.

5. Justification for the Pre-Selected Supplier

Beyond 20/20 has been publishing insurance data on OSFI’s behalf since 1996. Since then, they have become an integral service provider to Canadian data stakeholders who have come to rely on them for access to OSFI data. Many users have established automated feeds and processes to ingest data from Beyond 20/20, and alterations to the delivery of data could cause significant disruption to our stakeholders. OSFI intends to modernize its online data distribution abilities to host this data centrally in the relatively near future. Until this can be accomplished, it is our hope to limit disruption to our stakeholders by maintaining our current operations.

6. Government Contracts Regulations Exception(s)

The following exception to the Government Contracts Regulations is invoked for this procurement under subsection 6(d) – “only one person is capable of performing the work”.

7. Ownership of Intellectual Property

Ownership of any Foreground Intellectual Property arising out of the proposed contract will vest in the Contractor.

8. Period of the proposed contract or delivery date

The proposed contract is for a period of one (1) year from June 10, 2024, to June 9, 2025, with two (2) options to extend the contract for up to a period of 1 year each.

9. Cost estimate of the proposed contract

The estimated value of the contract, including the option periods, is $ 56,896.63 CDN (HST incl).

10. Name and address of the pre-identified supplier

Beyond 20/20
PO Box 45564 Nepean RPO
Chapman Mills, Ontario K2J OP9

11. Suppliers' right to submit a statement of capabilities

Suppliers who consider themselves fully qualified and available to meet the specified requirements may submit a statement of capabilities in writing to the Contracting Authority identified in this Notice on or before the closing date of this Notice. The statement of capabilities must clearly demonstrate how the supplier meets the advertised requirements.

12. Closing date for a submission of a statement of capabilities

The closing date and time for acceptance of Statements of Capabilities is May 31, 2024, at 2:00 p.m. (EDT).

13. Inquiries and submission of statements of capabilities

Inquiries and statements of capabilities are to be directed to:

Jade Bédard
Senior Contracting Officer
e-mail: c••••••••@••••••••.••.ca

AI Analysis

Get a plain-English breakdown of this tender — what they need, who can bid, how to approach it, and tips for small suppliers. Takes a couple of seconds.

Basic information

Reference
cb-881-46003952
Solicitation no.
20232982
Buyer
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
Notice type
Advance Contract Award Notice
Method
Advance contract award notice
Procurement category
*SRV
Trade agreements
*None
Estimated value
Not disclosed
Source
canadabuys

Classification & terms

UNSPSC
UNSPSC 81000000 — Engineering and Research and Technology Based Services

Delivery & regions

Province
Ontario
Regions of delivery
*Ottawa *Canada *National Capital Region (NCR)
Contract term
June 10, 2024 → June 9, 2025

Key dates

Published
May 16, 2024
Closes
May 31, 2024
Amendment no.
001

Likely incumbents

(4)

Suppliers who have won similar work from this buyer before.

  1. 1
    Veritaaq Technology House Inc.
    1 contract won· latest January 9, 2024
    CAD $428K
    total awarded
  2. 2
    Accenture
    1 contract won· latest September 26, 2024
    CAD $423.8K
    total awarded
  3. 3
    Softchoice Corporation
    1 contract won· latest March 28, 2025
    CAD $183.4K
    total awarded
  4. 4
    Symbiotic Group Inc, Akkodis Canada Inc., In Joint Venture
    1 contract won· latest June 11, 2024
    CAD $167.8K
    total awarded

Veritaaq Technology House Inc. is the most likely incumbent, based on how often and how recently they have won this buyer’s work in this category. To displace them, expect to need a clearly stronger proposition or price.

Live tenders

City of Grande PrairieClosing today

City of Grande Prairie - Request for Proposal - Bear River Control Structure Concrete and Guardrail Repairs

77 MATCHView →
Department of Public Works and Government Services (PSPC)Closing today

Phase 2 EZ899-270696 Golden Detachment New Generator

Construction
81 MATCHView →
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI)Closing today

Canadian Macroeconomic Data

Services
77 MATCHView →